"Everyday Heroes"

President's Message

Parade president Ed Hanke


On behalf of the Laguna Beach Patriots Day Parade Association, I welcome you to our 53rd Annual Patriots Day Parade. Our theme this year is "Everyday Heroes". Often they act quietly without calling attention to themselves. They step up in difficult situations, know what has to be done, and then do the right thing. They come from all walks of life and all too frequently are unsung, receiving no notice or honors for their courageous deeds.

These are our "Everyday Heroes" and we respectfully urge all to remember them and to be inspired by their example. We are fortunate that we have so many outstanding persons with Laguna Beach ties whom we can honor. Our Grand Marshal is Barbara Diamond, the doyenne of Laguna's press reporters who has been writing about us for forty years. Our Honored Patriot Arnold Silverman served in extended combat during the Korean War where 38,000 Americans were killed-in-action. Our Citizen of the Year is Sande St. John has served this community in countless ways as a volunteer over three decades. Our two Junior Citizens, Alexis Yang and Cal Nielson are members of Laguna Beach High's Class of 2019 and represent the many fine young people in our town. Our Artist of the Year is Roxanna Ward whose talent at the piano has both entertained us and brought out the talents of many others. The Athlete of the Year is Jade Leilani Howson, one of the world's leading champions in the sport of standup paddleboarding.

You can read about all of them in the following pages and on our website at lagunabeachparade.org.

The Patriots Day Parade Association is an all-volunteer group that works for six months each year to bring together all the elements that make up our parade. Charlie Quilter serves as our Vice-president and writes the text in this program. Sandi Werthe, our treasurer, is our longest serving volunteer who handles a myriad of duties. Without her, the parade simply would not happen. Frank Daniel is our secretary and American Legion liaison, amid his many other service activities in our community.

The City of Laguna Beach provides support and we especially thank Adam Gufarotti, Mariann Tracy, and Jim Beres, who efficiently help us in the many official matters involving the parade. Sande St. John is our hospitality chair. Will Nighswonger is in charge of our VIP cars. Sandi Werthe is our liaison with the school district for the essay and cover art contests. Our webmaster is Jim Rue and I am the chief starter. Vicki Broadhurst represents Patience Wright Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, one of our parade founders 53 years ago. On Parade Day we count on the check-in team of Michelle Clark, Michele Monda and Dyanna Peters. Our marshallers are Kathy Hanke, Michael Lyons, Kathleen and Tom Fay. Eugene "Diz" D'Isabella and Charlie Quilter are in charge of the reviewing stand setup; Jay Andrus controls the dispersal area. Larson Lighting and Audio team sets up our public address systems. Our announcers are John Kountz at City Hall and Jim Rue at the library. John also heads our Laguna Beach Emergency Communications Team of talented amateur radio operators. Douglas Miller is our official photographer. Marvin Johnson, Ed Hanke and the Boy Scouts of Troop 35 are our "No Parking" sign team, and the Police Explorer Scouts help with traffic control. Johnny Fotsch and Will Nighswonger are our car judges. John Campbell takes care of our insurance requirements.

In addition, we give special thanks to LBHS student Diego Lapayese-Calderon, who won our High School contest for the cover art on this program. Our essay contest winner is Thurston Middle School student Cleo Washer. Union Bank and U.S. Bank have provided each winner with a $100 award. Thanks to Seven7Seven for providing a place for our awards ceremony.

That's our team! We hope you have a great day at the parade!

Edward Hanke, President Laguna Beach Patriots Day Parade Association

Return to Laguna Parade Main Site

 This website created by LagunaWebs.com
Last updated February 5, 2019